

2002

Meritorious
Awards
For Engineering
Innovation



2002

Engineering Innovation

Judges choose top 12 industry projects

Tart's E&P editors and staff proudly present the winners of the prestigious 2002 Special Meritorious Awards for Engineering Innovation.

The pages that follow spotlight the 12 awards the judges picked as best of the 2002 crop of entries. The winners reached across a broad range of disciplines and addressed a number of problems that posed roadblocks to efficient production. The resulting technologies opened new and better avenues to the complicated process of finding and producing hydrocarbons around the world.

This year, some of the brightest minds in the industry from service and operating companies submitted a record number of entries representing better technology and new techniques for judges to consider. The number of entries surpassed the previous year's by 31%.

The award program honors engineering excellence and achievement in every segment of the petroleum industry. In recognizes new products and technologies that offer innovation in concept, design and application. Winning entries represent techniques and technologies that are most likely to solve costly problems and improve exploration, drilling and production efficiency and profitability.

The people and companies that submitted the entries realize the oil- and gas-producing industry depends on new, better and constantly changing technological innovation to continue producing low-cost oil and gas from smaller and smaller reservoirs to feed an increasingly energy-hungry world. Contest judges chose the winners, but there were no losers in this contest. The products chosen represented the best of a long list of winners.

The expert panel of judges included engineers and engineering managers from operating, drilling, service and consulting companies worldwide. They applied their expertise in areas in which they were familiar, and judges were excluded from categories in which they or their companies had a business interest.

Hart's E&P would like to thank these distinguished judges for their efforts in selecting the winners in this year's competition.

As in past years, Hart's E&P will present the 2002 awards at the Offshore Technology Conference in Houston, Texas, May 6.

The magazine would like to break this year's record in next year's contest. Individuals, companies and countries are working around the clock on new technology that will improve the industry's efficiency, and those efforts should get the public attention they deserve.

An entry form for the 2003 Special Meritorious Awards for Engineering Innovation contest is available at the magazine Web site at www.eandpnet.com.

Every year, the magazine receives requests from people trying to submit late entries to the contest. An early submission avoids that last-minute rush that could force an entry that doesn't do justice to the project. The deadline for entries is Dec. 2, 2002.



2002

Winners

Colt Coiled Tubing Bottom Hole Assembly

AnTech Ltd.

Drillworks/Basin

Knowledge Systems Inc.

Enhanced Landing String Assembly

Expro Group

Express Expandable Sand Control Screen

Baker Oil Tools

Hydraulic Rack Jack System

Cudd Pressure Control Inc.

InCharge Intelligent Well System

Baker Oil Tools

OB-1

(Oil-Based Mud – Formation Electrical Imager)

Baker Atlas

PeneDrill Radial Drilling Tool

Penetrators Canada Inc.

Subsea MudLift Drilling (SMD) System

SMD JIP (c/o Conoco Inc.)

Ultra Low-Density LiteCrete

Schlumberger

Wireline Retrievable Flow Control - Electric

(WRFC-E) Valve

Schlumberger

Near Bit Reamer (NBR)

Halliburton Security DBS



2002

Judges

Kenneth Arnold

Paragon Engineering Services Inc.

David Beard

Noble Drilling Services

David Burnett

Texas A&M University

Wayne Bywater CalDive International Inc.

Donald Duttlinger

Petroleum Technology Transfer Council

Lawrence Edelblum

Mustang Engineering Inc.

Bev Edwards Vanco Energy Co.

Richard Ellis Mullen Energy Corp.

Brian Evans BJ Services Co.

Dick Ghiselin

OneOffshore Inc.

David Hebert Osca Inc.

Dave Huber Mariner Energy

George King

BP Amoco

Fikri Kuchuk

Schlumberger Oilfield Services

Jim Lea

Texas Tech University

Peter Lovie

American Shuttle Tankers

Mari Mes

Starbright Engineering

Keith Millheim Anadarko Petroleum Corp.

David Murphy

Shell Technology E&P

Ken Newman CTES LC

John Norman Tesco Corp.

Giovanni Paccaloni

ENI Agip

John Pohlman Pohlman International Inc.

Mark Rheinlander Quality Tubing

Jerome Schubert Texas A&M University

Lanny Shoeling

Shell Exploration & Production Co.

Bill Stringfellow Glastek

John Thorogood

BP Amoco Faeroes Ltd.

John Toups Westport Technology Center International

Dick Vennett

Materials Technology Consultants

Richard Ward

Cambridge Energy Research Associates

Doug White

Phillips Petroleum Co.

Nick Wiltgen

Holditch Reservoir **Technologies**

Buddy Woodroof Protechnics