



he editors of *Hart's E&P* are proud to present the winners of the prestigious Meritorious Engineering Award contest. We received, by far, more entries this year than any year in the past decade.

The Meritorious Engineering Award program honors engineering excellence and achievement in every segment of the petroleum industry. It recognizes new products and technologies that offer innovation in concept, design and application. Winning entries also have the potential to solve costly problems and improve efficiency and profitability.

An expert panel of engineers and engineering managers from operating,

drilling and consulting companies worldwide judged the entries. Judges were excluded from categories in which they had no expertise or in which they or their companies had a business interest. *Hart's E&P* would like to thank the judges for their efforts in selecting this year's winners.

The awards will be presented April 30, at the Offshore Technology Conference.

Submissions for next year's contest are welcome throughout the year. An entry form for the 2002 Meritorious Engineering Award contest is on p. 112. The form also is available on the *Hart's E&P* Web site, *www.eandpnet.com*. The deadline for the contest is Dec. 1, 2001. **E&P**

Winners -

Active Heave Drilling National Oilwell

BP Alaska NorthStar Subsea Pipelines Intec Engineering

Cerberus for Wireline CTES LC

> **CoilFrac** Schlumberger

Composite Production Riser System ABB Vetco Gray

> **DuraStone** Schlumberger

FlexSand Proppant Pack Enhancement Additive BJ Services

Formation Junction Hydraulically Sealed Multilateral Baker Oil Tools

FracTrac Treatment Well Mapping
Pinnacle Technologies, Halliburton
Energy Services

GyroTrak MWD Gyro ServiceBaker Hughes Inteq

MRIL-WD

Halliburton, Numar and Sperry-Sun Drilling Services **PatchFlex** Drillflex, Schlumberger

> PhaseTester VX Schlumberger

Remotely Operated Subsea Pig Launcher Oceaneering International

Sigmadril

M-I/Schlumberger

Spread Spectrum Wireless
LAN System
BJ Services

Swift Riser and Smart Coiled Tubing System Halliburton Energy Services

Judges

Kenneth Arnold Paragon Engineering Services Inc.

David Beard Noble Drilling Services

John Dees Dees Well Completions

Lawrence Edelblum Mustang Engineering Inc.

> Brian Evans BJ Services

David Hebert Osca Inc.

David Huber Mariner Energy Stephen Kent Weatherford Completion Systems

> George King BP Amoco

Jim Lea Texas Tech University

Peter Lovie
Bluewater Offshore
Production Systems Ltd.

Mari Mes Retired

David Patrick Murphy Shell Technology EP Ken Newman CTES LC

John Norman Tesco/Gris Gun Ltd.

John Pohlman
Pohlman International Inc.

Mark Rheinlander Quality Tubing

Geoff Roberts Santos Ltd.

Jerome Schubert Texas A&M University

Bill Stringfellow Glastek **John A. Toups Jr.** Westport Technology Center International

John Thorogood BP Amoco Exploration (Faeroes) Ltd.

Dick Vennett Material Technology Consultants

> Richard Ward Network Oil

Nick Wiltgen Holditch Reservoir Technologies

Buddy Woodruff Protechnics